Virginia Is For Lovers

It’s been a couple of weeks that I haven’t gone on a road trip so, when I got 6-day off from work, I packed my bag and headed out. It was a battle between New England states or the Carolinas. I posted it in my Facebook account on where to go and I have decided to go down south since there were more reasons to visit the places. The first stop on my 4-state road trip was in Virginia because Virginia is for lovers.va21

Virginia is a state located on the Atlantic coast of the United States of America and is part of both the Southern and Mid-Atlantic of the nation. Virginia has been nicknamed the ‘Old Dominion’ due to its status as the first English colonial possession established in mainland North America, and was also labeled as ‘Mother of Presidents’ due to eight of U.S Presidents were born in the state. I was in the western part of Virginia. I made a quick stopover at Virginia Visitor Center and the lovely lady told me to visit some of their local sites. Thus, I had these attractions on my list and have visited these places;

va02

Virginia Visitor Center

Big Walker Lookout

va16

Big Walker Lookout

Big Walker Lookout is located in Wytheville, VA. It is a 100-foot observation tower located in the Wythe county. The tower is atop a peak near the Big Walker Mountain Tunnel and overlooking the East River Mountain Tunnel. The tower is accessed from the Big Walker general store. The lookout tower is open to the public and the cost to climb is US$6 for adults and US$4 for children.

va05

I Climbed the Tower ticket

va06

Big Walker Lookout Tower

va07

Big Walker Lookout Tower with the view of the hanging bridge

va15

The Swinging Bridge

va14

Big Walker Country Store

va01

Battle of Wytheville

va13

View atop of the tower

va12

View of Wytheville

va11

View of Wytheville

va10

View of Wytheville

va09

View of Wytheville

va08

View of Wytheville

The climb of the tower was a little shaky but it was worth the view on top. To purchase the ticket, just go to the country store since they offer it along with foods, souvenirs, and fun with other guests. I met other travelers and had fun walking the swinging bridge.

Shot Tower Historical State Park

va03

Shot Tower Historical State Park

Shot Tower Historical State Park is a state park located near the town of Austinville and is the centerpiece in the Jackson Ferry Shot Tower. The shot tower was used for the creation of ammunition. The tower is listed on the National Register of Historic Places.va04

va19

Other side of the Shot Tower

va20

Inside the Shot Tower

va18

The River Crossing

va17

The state park is wide. It has a biking and hiking trail. Just a tip: if you plan of visiting the park, just park your car at the foot of the hill or on the dirt path than on the state entrance. Parking fee cost US$5. I paid it and I found out that other visitors were just on the dirt path. But I am helping the state park generates some income so, it was a win-win situation.

The whole road trip in Virginia was a blast. It was unplanned but I did get some decent tourist attractions in the county I have visited. Those may not be as popular as Virginia Beach or the metropolis of Richmond but they were an eye catch for people like me who are nature and history lovers. Indeed, Virginia is for lovers.

Leave a Reply

