IATA Code: CUN – Aeropuerto Internacional de Cancún

International Air Transport Association (IATALocation Identifier uses a 3-letter code to identify locations of airports throughout the world.Flag_of_Mexico.svg

Cancún is one of the top tourist destinations in the world and for it to be accessed by tourists, it has to have a great hub. Cancún International Airport or IATA Code: CUN serves the purpose of that. It is considered an international airport with flights from/ to other parts of Mexico and the world.


I flew thru Delta Airlines from the United States. A direct flight to Cancún International Airport is one of the best options if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of Mexico City.


Upon de-planing, I went directly to passport control. As expected, it was indeed a long queue. But Immigration Officers were really fast. It took about 30 mins from the queue to get to the IO desk and got my passport stamped. Just make sure to have the immigration form filled out correctly.Next to the Passport Control was the baggage claim. I traveled light so I didn’t stay that long. But I took some shots.Then to Customs, a tourist should declare what things were brought in in the country even a simple anti-diarrheal pill should be declared as pharmaceutical entity. It so happened that I have it with me to prevent accidents while traveling.Once cleared from Customs, you can get out and will see stalls of travel agencies, car rental companies, money changers, and transportation services.Just few steps from these stalls will lead you to the exit and Cancún will welcome you warmly.During my departure time from Cancún back to the US, the check-in counter for Delta Airlines was in Terminal 3. Most flights in Terminal 3 were bound to the United States.Aeropuerto Internacional de Cancún was spacious at the time I got there. My flight was at 0630H so, that might explained why it was not crowded yet. Anyway, after I had my boarding pass, I went directly to second floor to the Security Control area.Once checked with security personnel, you will be welcomed by Duty Free.Local stores and restaurants were visible too. Just follow the signs and you’ll get through your boarding gates.In this part, all I have to do was wait for boarding anouncement. There are a lot of seats but I observed that they don’t have charging stations for mobile phones or electronic gadgets.To sum it up, Aeropuerto Internacional de Cancún is a tidy, spacious, well planned, well lit and well constructed airport. It sure could compete with international standards of other airports in the world.

Leave a Reply

