Back to Blogging

It has been quite a cold and lazy winter for me. I haven’t written or done anything at all and never in my life thought that I can be this non-productive. I felt like I hibernated for a couple of months. But anyway, I am back to blogging which is good. I finally dragged my chair, sat down and wrote a blog post for the year.

To start off, I eventually had some road trips while I was being lazy. I just didn’t have the motivation to write about it. I was all over the southeastern and northeastern part of the state of Ohio. I confessed that I am a traveler and you can’t keep a traveler in one area. Here are the road trips I had gone through during the winter season.

  1. Fort Laurens Museum and Park

I was hyped to do some history tracing so, I have decided to start by exploring some museum and park. Fort Laurens Museum and Park is located in Tuscarawas county near the town of Bolivar. It was an American revolutionary war fort. This fort was built by Gen. Lachlan McIntosh  in 1778 on the west bank of the Tuscarawas River as a staging point for an attack against the British garrison at Detroit. But due to the conditions at the fort were harsh during the winter, they have decided to remove most of the American forces to another fort. Fort Laurens was the only fort built in the state of Ohio during the Revolutionary War and the museum has been added to the U.S. National Register of Historic Places.

img_5809

Wooden Cottage

img_5812

Stone Cottage

img_5816

Information scattered around the museum

The whole museum is equipped with information related to the past and history of the fort. Not only that, it is also a park with cottages where you can have picnics, a hiking and bike trail.

2. Jackson Community Parkimg_5830

Then I went to another park but this time it was in Massillon. I was in Jackson Community Park. The park has a Blue Star Memorial as a tribute to the Armed Forces who have defended the country.

img_5822

Blue Star Memorial

img_5828

Gazebo

img_5841

The Lake

img_5829

On the way to the baseball court

The park is amazing. There are a lot of activities for people of all ages. The park has an excellent run and walk path, an accessible playground for the kids, restrooms and water fountains. It has spacious parking lots, gazebos to rest, sport courts such as baseball and soccer, a beautiful lake and a friendly neighborhood.

3. Portage Country Clubimg_5832

I decided to try and go to a country club. I stopped by at Portage Country Club in Akron. Portage Country Club is rich in tradition and has been established in 1894. The club has a lot of facilities for members. Facilities and services such as golf, tennis, swimming and dining experiences even catering.

4. Silver Springs Parkimg_5833Next to my destination was at Silver Springs Park. Silver Springs Park is located in Stow. The City has been providing outdoor recreational activities to visitors.

img_5835

Picnic Shelter

img_5834

Park Lodge

img_5837

Soccer Field near Parking Lot

The park has a spacious lodge parking, a swimming area, picnic shelters and area, and playground. It also has a wide soccer field near the parking area.

5. Hudson Springs Parkimg_5838

I was still in Stow when I got side tracked and drove to Hudson Springs Park. It is a large park with a huge lake for fishing, with walking path and pavilions.img_5840

Hudson Springs Park provides a wide range of activities. The huge lake is inhabited with bass and bluegill fishes. The meadows and woods have wildlife that include geese, ducks, deers, owls, hawks, herons and even foxes. It has 3 picnic pavilions, volleyball, a playground, and a hedge maze for kids.

6. Great Lakes Science Centerimg_5740

It is located at North Coast Harbor in downtown Cleveland. Great Lakes Science Center is a museum and an educational facility for people of all ages. The museum features many exhibits and supports STEM (science, technology, engineering, math).

img_5796

View infront of the Science Center, the Cleveland skyline

The facility includes signature and traveling exhibits, meeting space, a cafe, and an IMAX Dome theatre. The Science Center is home to the NASA  Glenn Visitor Center, one of the 11 such visitor centers in the United States. The facility provides science tours to students and guests.

7. Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museumimg_5761

Right beside the Great Lakes Science Center is the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum. It is located in the shore of Lake Erie. It has been established to recognise and archive the history of the best-known and most influential artists, producers, engineers, and other notable figures who have major influence on rock and roll development.

img_5741

Different view of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum

img_5790

Different view of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame and Museum

It has different levels in the building. Most of the exhibits in every levels feature the roots of rock and roll and its major impact to cities around the world. After my visit in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, I headed back home since it was getting late and the drive from downtown Cleveland to my place is about 2 hours and a half.

To top it all off, now that I’m back to blogging. It’s time for me to travel the world again. Due to blogging, it has put my life in constant move. Making it a little less stressful is a way for me to survive my stay here alone and from this view taken at work in Marietta.img_5793

Leave a Reply

