IATA Code: CAK – Akron-Canton Regional Airport

International Air Transport Association (IATALocation Identifier uses a 3-letter code to identify locations of airports throughout the world.800px-Flag_of_the_United_States.svg

CAK or known as Akron-Canton Airport is a regional airport located in Ohio. It is a regional commercial airport in the city of Green which is southern area of Summit county. The airport is just off interstate 77, which is southeast of Akron and northwest of Canton thus, the name of the airport.

The airport has only two runways and yet it is one of the fastest growing airports in the Midwest. It only serves local or domestic flights bringing passengers to major hubs like O’Hare International Airport in Chicago to get connecting flights to international destinations.

I arrived in CAK at noon from driving almost an hour and a half from Caldwell. CAK has short and long term parking areas. I parked my  car in Long Term Parking ‘B’ lot since it will only charge me of US$48 for a weekly rate. If you want to check their rates, click here. I was trying to park my car and the airport’s shuttle bus was just right behind me to pick me up to bring me to the airport counter gates. It was really convenient because I don’t have to wait for the bus anymore. I got a yellow ticket from the shuttle bus driver and he said to keep it and to give it when I come back for the driver to drop me off where I left the car. That was so cool since a lot of times whenever I leave my vehicle on a big parking area, I always forget where I parked it. Funny but it happened to me almost all the time when I’m in Walmart Marietta ;).

I was then dropped off in Terminal Gate of the airport. I proceeded directly to the airline counter to get my boarding pass since I can’t do it using the kiosk. It was fast and I got my boarding pass in a jiffy.img_4934

I got spare time to wander around the airport’s departure area and got these.

img_4937

Stores in CAK Airport while waiting for your flight

img_4936

On my way to the boarding gate

img_4938

CAK Airport

img_4939

img_4940

Waiting Area

img_4941

Arbys and Great Lakes Brewery

img_4945

Free Wi-Fi connection while waiting for boarding

I got to see the departure area of the airport and when I got back from my trip, I got the chance to take some photos in the arrival area.

img_5039

Welcome sign

img_5037

Baggage Pickup Area

CAK maybe considered a small regional airport but thru this airport, I got easy access to go and travel to other famous and big destinations within the country  and outside. The airport is for travelers like me who live closer to it. It only has few services and facilities offered but definitely beneficial to all flyers.

Leave a Reply

