It’s Almost Summertime

It’s getting warmer each day in Ohio and few more weeks, it’s almost summertime. If we are going to talk about summer, one thing comes in mind and that is lounging in the beach and enjoying the perfect blue sky and the heat of the sun. Since I am located in the middle of the United States, it is not easy to get to the beach and it takes hours or days to drive just to get there. I used to live in a country abundant with beaches, sea coasts, and white sands, thus, during dry season, I can just choose different beaches every week. But I live in Ohio now, so, I have to always consult and ask question to my local friends to tell me where to go. Finding a place to swim is one of those questions and it has made me more desperate to get into one because I haven’t had gone swimming for almost a year. Thus, my search for a good summertime has commenced.

Last week, I drove all the way to Eastern Ohio in St. Clairsville to go on a shopping spree due to the reason that I don’t have any summer clothes. I was in Ohio Valley Mall and luckily, Macys was on sale for Mother’s Day. Right after I wasted my hard-earned money, I proceeded to a nearest state park for a possibility of getting a rest and I spent few minutes in Barkcamp State Park’s beach area. That day was perfect for fishing and I saw a lot of people casting their fishing poles to catch some fish.

Barkcamp State Park

Barkcamp State Park

20160507_16260320160507_162117

After I got some R&R even though it was just for few minutes, I headed back home and I was craving for a dip in a cold swimming pool. Yet unfortunately, I have to work the next day.

At work,  I asked my colleague about a nearest swimming facility and she told me about the hotels in town that they have indoor pools that I could use. I got my day off and I have decided to try and check it out. First stop was Comfort Inn. I talked to the hotel receptionist named Amber and told me that they only offer pool parties for around $85 for a couple of hours which is not doable for me. Then I tried Best Western Suites which doesn’t provide pool service for non-customers but they offer fitness classes and training which a member can use the pool from 0500H to 2000H everyday for a monthly fee of $45. That is not reasonable for me. Hearing all those from both hotels and still having the urge to swim, I got an idea of going to other city. The nearest city is Cambridge. I went again on a road trip to find a swimming pool.

I searched the web and I found Cambridge City Pool, then, I drove for almost 45 mins to get there and I found this.

Cambridge City Pool

Cambridge City Pool

But to my surprise, it was close and is under renovation. I felt lost and failed my mission to meet my goal which is to have a swim. The good thing about it is Cambridge City Pool is located within Cambridge City Parks so, my trip was not a waste since I got to see and spend most of my day in the park instead.

Cambridge City Parks

Cambridge City Parks

20160512_141115 20160512_141122 20160512_141219Within the city park, it also has a basketball court, baseball field, camping site, kids’ playround, lake, covered bridge, and more.20160512_141447

Kids' Playground

Kids’ Playground

Armstrong Covered Bridge

Armstrong Covered Bridge

20160512_141959The Armstrong Covered Bridge,  formerly Spanned Salt Fork Creek  in Jefferson Township, Guernsey County was built in 1849 and relocated during 1966-1967 and was rebuilt just recently last year, 2015.20160512_142517 20160512_142543I was wandering around the city park and while I was checking my phone, I did find another location for a swimming pool. It says on Google that there is this one pool in Cambridge near YMCA. It was just a few blocks from the park I’m in. Without second thoughts, I went back to my car and drove all the way to the location that was given to me. Then, I haven’t found it. All I saw were big mansions and amazing big houses. I got to see Coach House Manor.

Coach House Manor

Coach House Manor

Coach House Manor, formerly the ‘A.J Bennett’ Estate, founder of world famous Cambridge Glass was built in 1907.  Along the road of N 7th St, Cambridge, OH, there are these houses that stand out. I only took pictures of the one of the best mansions.20160512_145015 20160512_145235Beside this awesome, well-defined and eye popping exterior design is another attention grabbing and magnificent house building.20160512_145208

Colonel Taylor Inn Bed and Breakfast

Colonel Taylor Inn Bed and Breakfast

As a summary of my search for swimming pools, I have failed. I went home and I got a shower instead. The road trip wasn’t that bad because I got to explore more of the other cities near me. I may not have succeeded in my goal but for sure, I’ll accomplish it sooner. If I don’t feed my craving here in Ohio, then the last resort will be to fly to a Sunny state just to enjoy the coming season for it’s almost summertime. See you around in the sunny state of California!

Leave a Reply

