The District

Washington, D.C is the capital of the United States of America. It is famous and most visited city in the country and probably in the world, too. It is located in the East Coast and is commonly referred to as Washington, D.C or ‘The District’. Per wiki, ‘The U.S. Constitution provided for a federal district under the exclusive jurisdiction of the Congress and the District is therefore not a part of any U.S. state.’ The District is made up of land donated by the states of Maryland and Virginia and is the centre of all three branches of federal government of the United States, the President, Congress and Supreme Court.

One day, I’ve dreamed of visiting the District and never had I realise that it will come true. I have decided to go to the District to have my passport renewed. After I did what I needed to do, I was free to explore DC. I just wandered around and got to see a lot of very beautiful places.20151008_133827

The Treasury Department

The Treasury Department

20151008_134400

Dwight D. Eisenhower Executive Office Building

Dwight D. Eisenhower
Executive Office Building

20151008_135231

World War I Memorial

World War I Memorial

Victory Statue in World War I Memorial

Victory Statue in World War I Memorial

20151008_140040

White House

White House

20151008_141642

Washington Monument

Washington Monument

20151008_14191320151008_144815

Enid A. Haupt Garden

Enid A. Haupt Garden

20151008_145333

National Gallery of Art

National Gallery of Art

The Capitol

The Capitol

World War II Memorial

World War II Memorial

Washington Monument with the Capitol

Washington Monument with the Capitol

Abraham Lincoln Statue

Abraham Lincoln Statue

Jefferson Memorial in Tidal Basin

Jefferson Memorial in Tidal Basin

Ronald Reagan Building and International World Trade Centre

Ronald Reagan Building and International World Trade Centre

Farragut Square

Farragut Square

Dupont Circle Station

Dupont Circle Station

There are still more places to see in Washington, DC but since I got only 2 days so, I stick on following the tourist attraction path. There might be a big possibility of me going back to The District next year and if that happens, then, I’ll be exploring the capital.

To sum it up, my trip was really short. I never had the chance to really look up on all the details, history, and I just did take my camera and took some shots without knowing the story behind those buildings, memorial halls, and streets. Yet still, I love spending my time in The District.

Leave a Reply

