My Me Day

Once in a while, an individual needs a day all for himself. A day were he can slack off and stay in bed til noon. A day were he can go on a trip. A day were he can go on a date with himself. A day free from all worries even though it is just for 24 hours. That is what I called a my ME day.

I set a milestone on the 24th of September as a my ME day. It was a special day for me since it only passes once in a year and yes, it is my natal day. That day would also be my first birthday in the US soil. So, I was thinking that day i’ll be having it all to myself but it turned out I was wrong. I ended up coming to work in the afternoon since we have a mandatory meeting. At first, I felt like my ME day was ruined due to this meeting because few weeks back, I have planned of going on a trip. What I did instead was worth the trip.

I woke up early in the morning and had a video call with my family back home in the Philippines. Conversing to your family is way more rewarding and worth the time rather than having gone on a trip somewhere. The conversation lasted about 2 hours talking about the ‘what’s up and going on’ in my home province.

The conversation goes til I went to the post office to mail my month’s rent check. The post office is just 3-5 minutes walk from my apartment.

Caldwell Post Office

Caldwell Post Office

After I mailed the check, I went to the church in town to pray and give thanks for all the blessings. I walked about 10-15 minutes heading up north in Belford Street. Finally, I got to St. Stephen Catholic Church but to my surprise, it was closed. Yet not a problem, I just prayed outside.

St. Stephen Catholic Church

St. Stephen Catholic Church

Photo 24-09-2015, 9 40 36 AM Photo 24-09-2015, 9 40 53 AM Photo 24-09-2015, 9 40 31 AM

At 1500H,  I went to work to attend a mandatory meeting for staff. It only lasted for an hour, so, I still got the time to go some place new. During the meeting though, I was surprised that everyone remembers or knows my natal day. They got me an ice cream cake which was really delicious.

Late afternoon by 1600H, I went to Monroe county which is about 29 miles from Caldwell. I just went there to find another KFC outlet since I’m always eating in KFC-Cambridge. I got in Woodsfield town in Monroe county and got these photos while having dinner in KFC. I know it is lame to spend your birthday in  a fastfood but there is nothing I can do when you live a life alone and care free.Photo 24-09-2015, 7 33 58 PM Photo 24-09-2015, 7 32 39 PM

KFC and Taco Bell in Woodsfield

KFC and Taco Bell in Woodsfield

Photo 24-09-2015, 7 09 37 PM

3-piece dark meat meal with mac and cheese and a gravy

3-piece dark meat meal with mac and cheese and a gravy

An old theatre in Monroe county

An old theatre in Monroe county

Monroe County Courthouse

Monroe County Courthouse

My Me Day finally ended when I got home at 2000H. I took my shoes off, had a shower and call it a night. It was not that bad yet it was just a simple celebration of life and to love myself even more. I have spent my birthday out of the country and away from my family for quite some time but the support I got from my family back home and the family I considered here are overwhelming. The best thing about it is I had a good my ME day.

Leave a Reply

