Exploring Wolf Run State Park

Every country has its tourist attractions. On all of the countries I have gone to, I can summarise the tourist spots in every nation I’ve seen. In the Philippines, they have the beaches. In Saudi Arabia, they have the corniche. In Viet Nam, they have the French designed buildings. In Cambodia, they have the wats (temples). In Thailand, they have their Buddha. Now I’m in the United States, this country has state parks for me to visit. That is why I’m on my way to exploring some of the state parks near me.

Wolf Run State Park

Wolf Run State Park

Well, let me tell you first about state parks. “State parks are parks or other protected areas managed by the state to preserve a location on account of its natural beauty, historic interest, or recreational potential. There are state parks under the administration of the government of each U.S. state.” per Wikipedia.20150914_221755
Let’s start with my current location. I have settled in Noble county. In Noble county, there are different state parks and one of those I have visited just last week. I have gone to my first state park exploration and that was the Wolf Run State Park.20150914_220527
Wolf Run State Park is located in a town or village of Caldwell which is in the Southeastern part of the state of Ohio. The road going to the park is well paved and it took me about 15 mins to get there from my place. It was around 0800H when I visited the park. There were no visitors yet, only maintenance staff.20150914_220533
The weather was fine, sunny but chilly. It was still summer season only that as you can see, the water from the lake has a ground fog on it signifying that the water is cold. The thing is I haven’t thought that, that day would be nippy because some other mornings were just fine. I just wore some shorts, sandals and t-shirt and good thing I had with me my fleece jacket which I forgot to remove from my car which ended to be the most useful piece of cloth to wear. So, I stepped out from my car and started exploring Wolf Run State Park.

Ground fog

Ground fog

I was in the beach area and I have all this view to myself. The beach area has toilets and bath to use for guests.

Toilets and baths

Toilets and baths

It also has sandy coast, good for picnics and suntanning. Few feet away are tables and seats for diners who want to eat their food boxes and spend time while just being mesmerize by nature’s perfect view.

Going to the beach area

Going to the beach area

Beach Area

Beach Area

Wolf Run State Park has enough parking space for guests. Parking area can probably accommodate an estimate of 30-50 cars.

Parking area

Parking area

20150914_221428

The park offers water activities. You can bring your recreational watercraft like jetskis and even kayaks. Some guests came to the park for fishing, too. About 5 miles from the beach area is the camping grounds and state park office. I didn’t go there since I won’t be camping or staying for the night. I am not also into hiking in the woods that time.20150914_220954
Overall, Wolf Run State Park is a good place to spend and kill time if you don’t have anything to do at home. Just make sure that when you visit the park, you are wearing the appropriate dress code for that season or weather.20150914_22070120150914_220945

One thought on “Exploring Wolf Run State Park

  1. Pingback: Hiking the Trails of Hocking Hills State Park | The Lone Traveler

Leave a Reply

