Hopping Accommodations Like A Dummy

I had a quick trip in the capital of my home country. That trip was good for 5 days and basically, I needed a place to stay. Since the purpose of visiting Metro Manila was to finish some paperwork and have it submitted to offices here and there, then I have to look for hotels, apartelle, dormtel, hostels and guesthouses within or nearest to these offices. These offices were located within Ermita, Manila, so, I have made reservations and I’ve been hopping accommodations like a dummy coz the proximity between these places were just within 1 kilometre.

First accommodation I have stayed was a one-starred apartelle. I have been staying in this apartelle for almost all my trips in Manila. I’ve been a loyal guest to them coming back every 2 to 3 years. I got a standard room located in Ermita which is 5 minutes walk from Robinson’s Place Mall. The name is Yasmin Apartelle. It has offered an affordable price per room. I got a good deal because of being a loyal guest, they gave me 10% discount. For a standard room in their new building, it will cost PhP1,600 and PhP1,200 in the old building. Great thing about Yasmin Apartelle is, it offered free wi-fi connection, toiletries, big room space and the feeling of being at home. The star of this apartelle is of course the staff. I have made acquaintances from the receptionist to the chef to the housekeeping staff. They always wear a smile and that is what I like about this place. You felt that you are welcomed and they are pleased to see you. Surely, it was a hard time to say goodbye before I moved to another accommodation. I will definitely recommend to everyone to spend their time or stay in Yasmin Apartelle. Good job!

Reception Area

Reception Area


Receiving Area

Receiving Area


Comfy Bed

Comfy Bed


The Toilet and Bath

The Toilet and Bath


AC, study table, fridge and TV

AC, study table, fridge and TV


Hot and Cold Shower

Hot and Cold Shower


Yasmin Apartelle alfresco area

Yasmin Apartelle alfresco area

Name: Yasmin Apartelle
Location: 453 Arquiza St., Ermita, Manila, Philippines
Room Rate: Standard Room in New Building starts at PhP1,600 and in Old Building at PhP1,200.
Contact Details:
Mobile – (+63) 947-897-2881
Telephone – (+632) 523-5107; 524-5134
Email – yasminapartelle@yahoo.com; delia0909@aol.com

Contact Details

Contact Details


Map

Map

Then, I transferred to a different accommodation. It was just 1 block away from Yasmin Apartelle. This another accommodation is well known to backpackers and travelers who are in a tight budget. They’ve been awarded by TripAdvisor as a good place to stay from the positive feedback from the guests. I stayed in a two-starred Hostellery. It is near to Manila’s tourist spots such as Rizal Park, Manila Ocean Park, and Intramuros. Hostellery provides modern and comfortable rooms with air conditioning and free access to Wi-fi. They also provide free toiletries and a bidet. It had a 24-hour front desk, lockers, TV lounge, laundry and most of all, free breakfast. This, too, surely I will recommend to my friends who are planning to visit Manila.

Hostellery Logo

Hostellery Logo


Receiving Area

Receiving Area

hostellery10

Front Desk

Front Desk


Guest Information Form

Guest Registration Form


Dormitory Type Room with 4 Double Decks

Dormitory Type Room with 4 Double Decks


Shower Cubicle

Hot and Cold Shower Cubicle


TV Lounge

TV Lounge


Cafeteria Area

Dining Hall


Free Breakfast with Juice or Coffee

Free Breakfast with Juice or Coffee


Recreational Area

Recreational Area


Wall Painting

Wall Painting


Computer for Public Use

Computer for Public Use

Name: Hostellery
Location: 418 Plaza Nuestra Senyora De Guia, Alhambra cor. Ferguson St, Ermita, Manila, Philippines
Room Rate: Dorm-type Room starts at PhP700/bed with free breakfast.
Contact Details:
Mobile – (+63) 927-574-3452
Telephone – (+632) 521-6545
Email – hostellery@gmail.com

Brochure with contact details

Brochure with contact details


Rooms

Rooms

Third accommodation stop was at Malate Pensionne, Inc. A little far from the previous place I stayed. This one, I made a reservation thru Booking.com and I’ve read that this property is a 3-star. It is just a 5-minute walk to Manila Bay and is near a famous coffee shop, Coffee Bean. It has been also awarded with a TripAdvisor’s Certificate of Excellence. Naming all those positive qualities, I had raised my expectations about the place. Then one day when I was in Malate Pensionne, Inc, first, it was OK. The staff were accommodating, friendly and helpful. It wasn’t the check-in time yet and I was a little bit hungry and I told them if I can go out and be right back during the check-in time so, they offered me the luggage storage from the front desk. When I came back, everything went smooth. I was assisted with an employee to carry my luggage in my room. But upon opening the room, my smile went upside down. The room was dirty, the light was dim, the AC was not working well, the space and everything were in bad position. It was like a place that wasn’t maintained. The TV signal was always interrupted. The wi-fi connection can’t reach the room so, you need to go down to the lounge to access it. The shower, toilet…I think all were really substandard. Definitely, a place I won’t be coming back at all. Malate Pensionne, Inc made an impression to me but in the worst type. It was the worst accommodation experience I had from the years I’ve been traveling and checking in and out of hotels.

Logo Just Outside

Logo Just Outside

malate10 malate08

Stairway going to the room

Stairway going to the room


Hard, Smelly Mattress Bed

Hard, Smelly Mattress Bed


cable TV with interrupted signal

cable TV with interrupted signal


Smells like cockroach wardrobe

Smells like cockroach wardrobe


No hot and cold shower

No hot and cold shower


Sink that clogs

Sink that clogs


Need to go down to the lounge to use wi-fi

Need to go down to the lounge to use wi-fi


View outside the lounge

View outside the lounge

Name: Malate Pensionne, Inc
Location: 1771 M. Adriatico St, Malate, Manila, Philippines
Room Rate: Premium Double Room starts at PhP1,300. They also offer different type of rooms from AC to fan, from private to shared bathrooms.
Contact Details:
Telephone – (+632) 523-8304

Last accommodation I’ve stayed was in the centre of Pasay City where you all have the accessibility of going to any part in Metro Manila. I have checked-in near Pasay Rotonda just few walks going to both MRT and LRT-1 train stations. That was in Kabayan Hotel. It is a 3-star hotel near NAIA hubs. It offers free wi-fi access, free breakfast, luggage storage, and a capsule typed accommodation. The lobby was nicely designed which is just near the restaurant. The capsule typed accommodation was just at the second floor. It has 8 capsules with Venetian blind to provide privacy from fellow hotel guests. Though we shared toilet and bath but it was fine coz there were two T&Bs and they provided guests towels and pillow as well. It doesn’t have television yet access to wi-fi was for free. The room was clean and well maintained. The only issue though is the service and the facilities they have. When I checked in, it took about 30 minutes before I could go to my capsule but I was patient enough coz there were a lot of clients who checked in, too. The one toilet of our room was clogged and the main door kept on alarming even though it was properly closed. But those were just little sit-backs. If I’ll head back to Manila, for sure I’ll be staying there again.

Inside the Capsule

Inside the Capsule


Toilet and Bath with Guest Lockers

Toilet and Bath with Guest Lockers


Blinds for Privacy

Blinds for Privacy


There is also a mirror inside the capsule.

There is also a mirror inside the capsule.


8 Capsules in a Room

8 Capsules in a Room

Name: Kabayan Hotel Pasay
Location: 2878 Zamora Street cor. EDSA Rotonda, Manila, Philippines
Room Rate: Capsule typed accommodation starts at PhP750 with shared toilet and bath. Room is air-conditioned, neat and spacious.
Contact Details:
Telephone – (+632) 772-7888
Mobile – (+63) 917-891-0772
E-mail – centralreservations@legendhotels.com.ph
Website – http://www.kabayanhotel.com.ph

Those were the hotel/ accommodations I’ve slept and stayed with just to finish all the errands I have. There were maybe ups and downs for every accommodations but one thing good about it is, they always provided me a roof over my head and kept me safe throughout my stay in Metro Manila and I am grateful for that.

Leave a Reply

