Street View of Ad Dammam and Al Khobar in Broad Daylight

My previous post talked about two cities in Saudi Arabia, Ad Dammam and Al Khobar, which are both located in the Eastern Region. I came there by night  and only saw city lights but I told myself that I’ll come back to see it in broad daylight. Just as promised, I came back to these cities and somehow enjoyed wandering around the streets of Ad Dammam and Al Khobar.

It was a hot but not so humid day. I started my journey at Ad Dammam and stumbled upon a nice park called Al Andalus Public Park but I don’t know the name of the street. It was basically just a wandering habit of mine wherein I allow my feet to take me where they want to go.45Then, I went to Ad Dammam’s city centre to take a peek and I remembered that I got a picture of this mosque during my night visit in this city and I found out it is really magnificent to look at it. I was kind of curious what it looks like inside since never ever in my entire life had tried to get inside a mosque since they told me it is not allowed for non-Muslims to go inside.1

After this, I directly  went to Al Khobar. It was 30-minute taxi ride for SAR15 per person or USD4. I was heading to the ever famous Al Rahmaniyah Mall in Al Khobar since it is the most popular place for Filipino expats. And when I arrived there, I was amazed. It felt like I was in the Philippines. Almost 99.9% of the shoppers are indeed Filipinos. You can hear people talking in Tagalog, Bisaya, Ilocano and a lot of Filipino dialects. Also in Al Rahmaniyah, you can find the most visited and always the busiest with long queues every day food chain called Jollibee. There is even a stall called here Manila Shopping Store and salesmen with  other nationalities even talked to you in Tagalog. Whoahh, it was definitely a place like home. I haven’t taken the picture of Al Rahmaniyah but only the views outside the window near Jollibee. 86I left Al Rahmaniyah after taking lunch. And again I let my feet do the traveling. After an hour, I got into a place where I don’t really know. Then, I went to have some bite. I have thought of trying some new cuisine and since there was a Turkish restaurant nearby, I went inside. I was looking on the menu, hard to pronounce and others were written in Turkiye. So, I ended up taking a shawarma, hahah how lame. It is not even a Turkish food but cooked by a Turkish cook maybe ;). While waiting for my order, I got the chance to take a snap of this buildings around the restaurant.7

I was a little bit tired after eating. I, then, hailed a taxi and headed to my final destination.3Mövenpick Hotel Al Khobar was just located a little far from the city centre but I only paid SAR15 again for the ride.2DSC03648

3 thoughts on “Street View of Ad Dammam and Al Khobar in Broad Daylight

  1. Pingback: Urban Spelunking (Final Episode: Night & Day) | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  2. Pingback: Urban Spelunking (Second Episode: Earth & Air) | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

  3. Pingback: Urban Spelunking (First Episode: Water & Fire) | Stories of The Wandering Feet & Mind

Leave a Reply

