Browsing Bohol IV: Tagbilaran City

I live in this place for almost my entire life after I left granny’s house. It happened a long time ago when my mom has decided to transfer residency from the small town named Calape to a city called TAGBILARAN CITY.

I was 10 years old when I was exposed to the hustle and bustle of the city but you might think that Tagbilaran City is same as other cities in the Philippines? You are wrong. It is a just a simple city.

As what I have observed, most people here are religious and they come to church like three times a week. Those are during Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays. That might be one of the many reasons that I celebrate Holy Mass three times in a week and made me somehow closer to God.

Even they called it a city yet you will still observe that the establishments close right after 2200H. Fewer night clubs, bars, pubs, and people only come there for celebrations and mostly they are partygoers, foreign and local travelers.

There are also malls, cafes, restaurants, hotels, resorts within the city. You can find everything here. People are hospitable and they even named Tagbilaran City  as the ‘City of Friendship’. It is called the City of Friendship because the blood compact happened right in this city and that’s why we celebrate Sandugo Festival to commemorate the event that took place here centuries ago.

Here in this city, we also value more on family time and religious living. We always make sure to go home before dinner for us to eat together and during Sundays, we go to church to attend a Holy Mass. That was my life when I was still in Tagbilaran City and that is what I miss a lot when I left the city.

But that is not a problem, few months to go and I’ll be going home, Tagbilaran City.

Related Links:

Browsing Bohol Articles include LobocCalape, TubigonDauisBaclayon, Sierra Bullones,  and Panglao.

7 thoughts on “Browsing Bohol IV: Tagbilaran City

  1. Pingback: Browsing Bohol VIII: Panglao | the Lone Traveler

  2. Pingback: Browsing Bohol VII: Sierra Bullones | the Lone Traveler

  3. Pingback: Browsing Bohol VI: Baclayon | the Lone Traveler

  4. Pingback: Browsing Bohol V: Dauis | the Lone Traveler

  5. Pingback: Browsing Bohol III: Tubigon | the Lone Traveler

  6. Pingback: Browsing Bohol II: Calape | the Lone Traveler

  7. Pingback: Browsing Bohol I: Loboc | the Lone Traveler

Leave a Reply

