Festivities in the Philippines: Sinulog 2011

Each year, we always make sure not to skip one Sinulog festival and to always visit the Holy Child in Basilica Minore del Sto. Niño.

Sinulog is held every third Sunday of January to celebrate and honor Sr. Sto. Niño. It is held in different provinces in the Philippines but I always witnessed the festivities only here in Cebu City.During Sinulog, a lot of activities, programmes, contests, parades, prayer vigils, novenas, etc has been arranged.Streets were filled with devotees and tourists, locals and foreigners alike. For us devotees of Sr. Sto. Niño, it will not be a complete experience if we won’t be able to see and kiss Him. That’s why there is always a long queue during this time.

Streets were also blocked due to street parties and parades. Malls were opened til midnight. Bars were jam packed. Everyone in Cebu City is alive during nighttime.

But, even though they have these activities, the main reason that I and my mom visit every Sinulog is to pray to the Holy Child.

I may not have been able to witness and visit Sr. Sto. Niño last 2012 and this year but I always pray to Him for guidance and thank Him for all the blessings I and my family received.

Not to worry, few more months and I’ll be seeing you in a while, Sr. Sto. Niño. I promise!

Leave a Reply

