Sugarbowl of the Philippines and the City of Smiles

I always deprived myself of being luxurious and spending extravagantly or excessively during my trips. So, my adventures are always on a tight budget without compromising my safety and security as well as enjoyment that I can get from the trip.

My journey started from the Queen City of the South, Cebu and had a bus trip from the city centre on my way to Toledo port. The bus trip took about an hour and a half. After that, I took a ferryboat on my way to San Carlos City port in the province of Negros Occidental. The boat trip lasted for 2 hours.

Once the boat was in dry dock, I directly went and stayed at Lola Nitang’s for a reasonable price.

After I kept my luggages there, I immediately went to the bus terminal to get into a van for my trip to Bacolod City. It was drizzling when I arrived in Bacolod but it didn’t stop me from exploring Bacolod city by foot.

First, I went to Bacolod City Church to make a wish and to start my trip in a positively way with protection from our Almighty God. Then, I headed to the plaza and walked to SM Bacolod to take a rest and I saw that the people here are amiable, might be the reason that they call this city, the City of Smiles.

A customer service representative in the mall advised me to go to The Lagoon since it is the nearest rendezvous for lovers, family and friends. So, I hailed a taxi that took me to the Lagoon and just relax while watching Negrenses do what they want to do in the park.

It was almost five in the afternoon that I went to the bus terminal to go back to San Carlos City since my stuffs were there. I arrived at San Carlos City by 8 and had dinner at some place famous for chicken inasal and then, went to my hotel to take a rest.

In the morning, I visited San Carlos City church and prayed. Then, I went to People’s Park to take some photos and enjoy the summer breeze.

Time flew so fast that my weekend getaway was over. I got into a bus for a RORO trip back to Cebu City in the afternoon. I arrived in Cebu City at nighttime and went directly to bed to sleep.

I spent not more than PhP3,000 for that trip yet I still enjoyed and had fun exploring some parts of those cities for just 2 days. You can always enjoy without thinking too much about the money you have in your pocket.

San Carlos City is known as the Sugarbowl of the Philippines while Bacolod City is the City of Smiles.

Leave a Reply

